Our main museum building was constructed in 1910 as a home for the park superintendent and his family. It was originally built near the center of Olcott Park and was moved to its present location in 1916. It has been the VAHS Heritage Museum since 1994. The City of Virginia allows the historical society to use the building rent-free.
Permanent exhibits in the main building showcase the history of Virginia, the city's devastating fires, the logging and lumbering industries, the Mesaba Electric Railway, and the beautiful gardens of Olcott Park. We also have rotating exhibits in the entryway and in the south room. The public is welcome to use the media center to view historical presentations, search the archive and artifact database on computer, and watch videos of area history on television. Our archives and offices are located on the second floor.